Prairie Advocate News

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Flip Pages Here

Carroll Co. Farm Bureau Recognized


Carroll County Farm Bureau Vice-President Leroy Getz accepts a recognition plaque awarded to the Bureau for its achievements during 2012. The award was presented during the Illinois Farm Bureau Annual Meeting and calls attention to the comprehensive nature of county Farm Bureau programs.

The Carroll County Farm Bureau was recognized for its achievements during the 98th annual meeting of the Illinois Farm Bureau held in Chicago December 1-4, 2012.

A member of Membership Group III, Carroll County received the following program awards:

Gold - Health & Safety

Silver - Legislative\Political Process

Bronze - Communication & Promotion, Ag Literacy, Commodities & Marketing, Member Relations

County Farm Bureaus in Membership Group III are those with 2,181–2,995 members.

As part of its Annual Meeting, Illinois Farm Bureau presents program and committee awards in recognition of outstanding county Farm Bureau volunteer efforts throughout the year.

The Illinois Farm Bureau is a member of the American Farm Bureau Federation, a national organization of farmers and ranchers. Founded in 1916, IFB is a non-profit, membership organization controlled by farmers who join through their county Farm Bureau. IFB represents two out of three Illinois farmers.

Carroll County Teacher Wins IAITC top award

Carl Erbsen.tif

Carl Erbsen, a first grade teacher from Lanark in Carroll County was named the Illinois Agriculture Teacher of the Year by the Illinois Agriculture in the Classroom (IAITC). The award was presented during the Illinois Farm Bureau annual meeting last week in Chicago.

Carl Erbsen teaches at Eastland Elementary, Lanark. Erbsen grew up on a dairy farm and uses his agricultural background to integrate agricultural topics into lessons in reading, math, and science. He also engages students in yearly projects in which they operate their own “farms.”

The students use “farm bucks” for expenses, such as machinery, buildings, and animals. As part of the farm project, animals are brought into the classroom.

One of Erbsen’s projects is known as adopt-a-calf. The students learn about the importance of beef farming and about beef calf development through calf visits to the classroom.

Erbsen will be the Illinois nominee for the National Excellence in Teaching Agriculture Award and will receive a trip to the 2013 National Agriculture in the Classroom conference in Minneapolis, Minn.

The runner up was Cathy Britts-Axen, a middle school special education teacher at Central Middle School at Burlington in Kane County. She has integrated the importance of agriculture into lessons about food, clothing, and shelter.

Other finalists were: Kelli Huneke, Lena, Stephenson County, and Mary Zumwalt, Altamont, Effingham County.